STA Engineering Challenge 2016


STA 2016 Engineering Challenge

Online Submission Portal Now Open!

CLICK HERE to Submit Your Project

The Society for Technology in Anesthesia (STA) is an international organization of physicians, engineers, students and others with an interest in anesthesia-related technologies. Its mission is to improve the quality of patient care in anesthesia by promulgating the development of better healthcare technologies and the more appropriate application of technology. The Society promotes education and research, collaborates with local, national, and international organizations, sponsors meetings and exhibitions, awards grants, and recognizes achievement. Membership is open to all who are interested. The journal Anesthesia & Analgesia is STA’s official publication.

The Society for Technology in Anesthesia is pleased to announce it’s 8th Annual Engineering Challenge to be held in conjunction with the 2016 Annual Meeting in Palm Beach, FL. The competition is open to engineering student groups (BS, MS, or PhD level) from accredited university engineering departments. Groups may have faculty mentorship, but the work should be that of the students. The work may be part of an engineering design course.

The Challenge: 

Anesthesiologists are defined by vigilance, but quantitating vigilance is a technical challenge. The goal of the 2016 Engineering Challenge is to examine this problem. We are teaming with the company eMotiv, who have recently released a new product called the Insight. This is a consumer EEG device that provides the ability to acquire multiple hour recordings of EEG nonintrusively. STA has purchased a site license for their software development kit (ONLY available for EPOC or EPOC+ headsets - Insight headsets are NOT eligible for the discount), and this entitles entrants to a discount on the purchase of the device. The goal is to develop an algorithm that can detect an EEG response to the sound of a drop in pulse oximeter tone.


NOTE: Any headsets offered on the Emotiv website can be used for the Engineering Challenge. It is not required to purchase the Insight headset.

As always, there are rules:

  1. The competition is open to all, but a team must include an anesthesiologist or anesthesia resident.
  2. Entrants do not need to attend the meeting in person, but may present via Skype.
  3. Entrants may use any training data sequence they wish, but must demonstrate their performance on a sequence that will be posted on the STA website during the meeting.
  4. Entrants must list team members, and explain why they feel qualified to compete, and commit to submitting. STA’s site license is for 25 seats, and we don’t want qualified entrants to be excluded because people who are merely curious want access to the SDK.

As always, the purpose of the Engineering Challenge is to explore new technology and educate the membership on it’s potential.

STA Engineering Challenge Contact Information:

For questions on the challenge specifications contact:

Jeff E. Mandel, MD, MS
Chair, STA Engineering Challenge 


2015 Annual Meeting Engineering Challenge Winner

Hassanpour Ali, MD, Temple University

2014 Annual Meeting Engineering Challenge Winners

First Place: Nicholas McGill, University of Pennsylvania

Second Place: Ryan Durk, Washington University Saint Louis

Third Place: Goeto Dantes, University of Florida