The NeuroWave Research Grant will be given annually in the amount of $7,500 to sponsor research in anesthesia technology.  Applications are accepted for any anesthesia technology research projects, including those related to education.


NeuroWave Research Grant

CLICK HERE to submit



Selection Criteria: Grant recipients will be selected by a committee of STA members, based on written applications for submitted research proposals. The recipient of the Neurowave Research Grant, and/or the institution sponsoring the research, is responsible for all decisions regarding the identification of research needs, determination of objectives, selection and presentation of content, selection of all persons and organizations that will be in a position to control the research, selection of research methods and the evaluation of the activity.

Presentation: Grant recipients are expected to present the results of their research at the STA Annual Meeting within two years following receipt of the grant. STA will provide the the grant recipient complimentary meeting registration and a reimbursement for travel expenses to the STA meeting.

Grant Requirements:

The grantee agrees to: 

  • Carry out the project as described in the application;
  • Remain at the department of anesthesiology at the institution sponsoring the application until completion of the project;
  • Maintain continuous IRB approval of the project before funds are released, and for the duration of the project;
  • Include STA funding verbiage (to be provided to grantee) in any and all publications resulting from research that has utilized Neurowave research award funds; and
  • Provide STA with copies of all published materials including abstracts, papers and other publications that result from this award project.

Submission Process: The 2025 NeuroWave Research Grant recipient will be announced in November 2024.


Congratulations to previous research grant recipients.

  • 2024 STA Research Grant Recipient:
    Helen Parker, MD
    BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre
  • 2023 STA Research Grant Recipient:
    Julian Wiegelmann, MD
    University of Toronto
  • 2021 Neurowave Research Grant Recipient:
    Michael Burns, PhD, MD
    University of Michigan
  • 2020 Neurowave Research Grant Recipient:
    Cedrick Zaouter, MD, MSc
    McGill University
  • 2019 Neurowave Research Grant Recipient:
    Asad Siddiqui, BHSc, MD, MEd, FRCPC
    Hospital for Sick Children
  • 2018 Neurowave Research Grant Recipient:
    Clyde Matava, MBChB, MMed, MSc
    Hospital for Sick Children
  • 2017 Neurowave Research Grant Recipient:
    Soodeh Ahani, PhD
    University of British Columbia
  • 2016 Fresenius Research Grant Recipient:
    Richard Epstein, MD
    University of Miami
  • 2015 Fresenius Research Grant Recipient:
    Christian Leth Petersen, PhD, MSc
    British Columbia Children's Hospital
  • 2014 Fresenius Research Grant Recipient:
    Michael P. Hutchens, MD, MA
    Oregon Health & Science University
    Christophe Philippona, B. Eng
    McGill University